L’Art de Vivre

In 1987 Wolf Freiherr von Hornstein founded and organized the unique circle of friends & guests „Les Amis de l’Art de Vivre”. The cultivation and promotion of food, wine and table culture was the considered the commitment and greater goal of this society. And so they chose and promoted fine hotels and restaurants.

Wolf von Hornstein, born in 1918 in Frankfurt on the Main, first worked as a publisher and editor of trade journals for viticulture, beverage technology and horticulture. In 1968 he purchased the former parish office in Süderende on the island of Föhr and turned it into a small country inn with a restaurant. Later it would become a Relais & Châteaux. In 1981 he was honored with one Michelin star, one Varta toque and four Schlemmer-Atlas spoons for his achievements in the kitchen. Gault Millau graced him with 2 toques and 16 points. Due to health reasons Wolf Freiherr von Hornstein had to sell his hotel and restaurant in 1986. Ever since it was founded in 1987 the society has developed continually. Today it lists more than 20 residences with numerous Michelin stars and Gault Millau toques. Part of L’Art de Vivre is made up by excellent top chefs in German speaking countries.

With a referral from an “ami” or a L’Art de Vivre residence, guests and gourmands can become members, as long as they commit to the philosophy and support our commitment to children in need.

President: Hans Stefan Steinheuer

Steinheuers Restaurant Zur Alten Post
Landskroner Straße 110
53474 Bad Neuenahr-Heppingen
Tel. +49 2641 9486-0 | Fax +49 2641 9486-10

L’Art de Vivre Office
Klaus Sieker
Minkweg 25  |  D-47803 Krefeld
Phone: +49 2151 564599  |  Fax +49 2151 564497
www.lartdevivre-residenzen.com  |  office@lartdevivre-residenzen.com

The L’Art de Vivre Honorary Award

This award recognizes the promotion of culinary high culture in Germany and exceptional lifetime achievements.

Recipients of this special award are: Eckart Witzigmann, Harald Wohlfahrt, Martin Öxle

Honorary Members of L’Art de Vivre are:
Dr. Ursel Geisel (†), Johanna von Hornstein, Eckart Witzigmann, Lorenzo
Cattaneo, Dieter Müller

The „Award for Great hospitality“ to support young talents in the  profession since 2010.